RHS People Awards

Celebrating those who have made outstanding contributions to horticulture and gardening

RHS Award winners


Nominations for the 2023 RHS People Awards are now open and must be submitted by no later than 5pm on Wednesday 31 August 2022.

Anyone can make a nomination for the RHS People Awards and we would like to hear about people you believe should be recognised for their contribution to horticulture and gardening.

A recent introduction to the awards is the Community Award category. It is open to anyone in the UK who has made an outstanding contribution to a community gardening programme, including community gardens, orchards, and urban and rural programmes that bring value to the wider community they are based in.

This award also reflects the importance we place on community gardening and its growing influence in delivering health and wellbeing and environmental benefits.
Another recent addition is the Roy Lancaster Award, open to those under the age of 35 on the date of nomination, which recognises the exceptional contribution to the practice, science or promotion of horticulture.

The full list of RHS People Awards available for nomination are:

  • The Victoria Medal of Honour 
  • The Veitch Memorial Medal
  • Associate of Honour 
  • Harlow Carr Medal
  • Reginald Cory Memorial Cup
  • Community Award
  • Roy Lancaster Award

Please use the nomination form to submit your application and refer to the criteria and frequently asked questions for further details and a brief description of the criteria for each award:

For more information about RHS Awards, please contact [email protected] or telephone 020 7821 3068.

RHS Awards 2022

The Victoria Medal of Honour

Established in 1897, with the assent of Her Majesty Queen Victoria, the Victoria Medal of Honour (VMH) enables the RHS Council to confer conspicuous honour on those British horticulturists deserving of special honour by the Society. In recognition of the duration of Queen Victoria’s reign, only 63 medals may be held at any one time.

The 2022 Victoria Medal of Honour (VMH) was awarded to Brian Duncan and Peter Thoday.

The Veitch Memorial Medal

The Veitch Memorial Medal may be awarded annually to persons of any nationality who have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the science and practice of horticulture. The Veitch Memorial Medal is held for life and there is no limit to the number of medals that may be awarded.

The 2022 Veitch Memorial Medal was awarded to James Alexander-Sinclair, Dr Matthew Jebb, Harri Lorenzi, Paul Meyer and Thomas Pakenham.

Associate of Honour

Established in 1930, the Associate of Honour is conferred on persons of British nationality who have rendered distinguished service to the practice of horticulture during the course of their working life. The Associate of Honour is held for life and the number of Associates may not exceed 100 at any one time (excluding those Associates who also hold the Victoria Medal of Honour).

The 2022 Associate of Honour was awarded to Peter Baxter, Dr Terence Gough and Greg Redwood.

The Harlow Carr Medal

The Harlow Carr Medal may be awarded for life to those who have made a significant contribution to horticulture in the North of England, through length of service, commitment to projects or unique capabilities, combined with reliability and professionalism.

The 2022 Harlow Carr Medal was awarded to Tom Atherton and Sue Gray.

Reginald Cory Memorial Cup

To encourage the production of new hybrids of garden origin, the Reginald Cory
Memorial Cup may be awarded to a raiser whose hybridisation programme has resulted in the recent introduction and availability of new hybrids of merit. This award is not limited by plant hardiness or to the breeding of a particular genus or species, though fruit and vegetables are excluded. The cup is held for one year and awarded annually.

The 2022 Reginald Cory Memorial Cup was awarded to Frederic Yates.

Community Award

The Community Award may be awarded to anyone in the UK who has made an outstanding contribution to a community gardening programme over a period of time, including community gardens, orchards, urban and rural programmes that bring value to the wider community that they are based.

The 2022 Community Award was awarded to Paul Ellison.

Roy Lancaster Award

The Roy Lancaster Award is open to those under 35 (on the date of nomination) who have achieved an exceptional contribution to the practice, science or promotion of horticulture.

The 2022 Roy Lancaster Award was awarded to Tom Christian.

See a list of other awards

Useful information

See the other awards handed out at the RHS Awards ceremony.

You might also be interested in our RHS Plant Committee Annual awards

Around the Society

RHS Ambassadors

 RHS Gardens

• Science

RHS Membership

I enjoy a refreshing walk… my membership gives me free family days out as often as I like.

Mrs Giddings, RHS member

Join the RHS

Get involved

The Royal Horticultural Society is the UK’s leading gardening charity. We aim to enrich everyone’s life through plants, and make the UK a greener and more beautiful place.